I Blame Gini Dietrich

Posted on March 28, 2013

5


“It’s Just My Take”…..that would be this blog which has been much ignored since 2011.  I get reminded (thank you WordPress) every time I go to preview or view a blog post I’ve created.   Let’s just say “Deb neglected this blog.”

I’ll be honest.  I hit a block in the road in terms of blogging.  I could give a number of reasons, but the bottom line?  Well, I hit a writer’s block.  I could not get myself inspired to write anything.  For a while, I would write a title of a post.  I can’t even begin to tell you how many drafts with “title only” I had sitting in posts.  A tad embarrassing.  I could come up with a title, but that was it and often when I would think that I really needed to get back to blogging, well, I couldn’t even come up with a title.  Soon I was avoiding wordpress because I didn’t want to get reminded about the blog that I was completely ignoring and neglecting.

Why did I start this blog?  Well to be honest, I started “It’s Just My Take” because I had been laid off and needed something filling my time beyond searching job ads, job boards and doing the resume/cover letter stuff.  This blog ended up becoming, well, just my thoughts as I dealt with a layoff and a struggling economy where hope was not the best.  And actually, not just my thoughts but a way that I could deal with the hopelessness of an economy where so many were struggling with similar experiences.  I’ll be honest, I really didn’t expect many to read it and was quite surprised when people not only read, but shared and took the time to comment.  I began to find myself going through the day observing life more intently and intentionally than I had before.   As I went through my day observing life, the blog posts suddenly started forming in my mind.

Then I hit the block.  The fork in the road where I headed down the path of a new job, a new city and all that comes with trying to figure your way around city and job.  What got lost during that process (through two cities) was this now neglected friend “It’s Just My Take.” I no longer was observing life as it drafted in my mind as a blog post.  I was simply going through life adjusting.  No matter how hard I tried, I could not get beyond a title.  And then this happened…

My friend @ginidietrich wrote a #FollowFriday post introducing/recommending me as someone to follow on the various platforms.  I can’t even begin to tell you how much it touched me that she would take the time to add me as someone to follow.  Now, I wasn’t fond of the getting stuck in the porsche picture, but that is beside the point.  In her post, she challenged me to begin blogging again.  The entire post was very sweet and made my heart smile.  She is a dear friend, and the fact she wrote the post meant the world to me, but one thing stuck and stuck hard.  She challenged me to blog again.  And yes, this little “It’s Just My Take” which I had been avoiding was back in front of me.

Now yes, it took me a while from her post until a couple of days ago for me to post, but let me just say it has been on my mind to get back to blogging.  A couple of days ago I posted and now I blame Gini….but in a good way, I’m back to experiencing the world as a writer.  And for that, I’m grateful.

Posted in: Blogging