Pilot Speaking – “Sorry My Bad”

Posted on October 31, 2009

0


I’ve been intrigued by the Northwest Airlines story this week. I have traveled for years. Security checkpoint, wait, board, takeoff, inflight, landing. Yep, been there and done that for years.

So pilots, truly I can understand how easy it is to forget to land a plane with 140 plus passengers. I’m sure each of them realizes what an easy mistake it is. A new schedule, a laptop and sure you can forget that you are actually flying a plane.

The truth….you have gotta be kidding me. How do you forget that you are flying a plane? Umm, your title is Pilot?

Interestingly enough, I think this happens often…just not as high profile as flying a plane. We truly function on autopilot many times…missing life as we are completely distracted by work schedules, traffic, grocery lists, bills, etc. Life passes by just as the airport did.

It is easy with social media to function on autopilot…to not have a plan. Many companies seem to dive into social media with an eye on the laptop and not the airport. Eyes are on the tools and not the destination.

Posted in: Social Media