The world is smaller, closer and a little sweeter with twitter.

Posted on March 3, 2010

8


What is so amazing about Twitter? It is not answering the question “what are you doing now.” It is not even the technology, and you see I am a geek. I love technology. Okay, maybe I should say, I love technology when it works. It is kind of a love/hate relationship.

What is amazing to me about Twitter is the relationships that can be developed in 140 character tweets. To be honest, when I first heard about twitter, I thought it sounded really pretty stupid. I told one of my former law firm partner friends about it over lunch one day and we jokingly laughed. “Yep,” I said. “Here is a tweet now. Having salmon salad.”

But I’m a curious being, so I couldn’t just let it go. I truly wanted to see how anyone would possibly use this silly concept for business. I simply couldn’t grasp how they would. So, I signed up for twitter and sent out a tweet here and there. As I hit the enter key, I would think…“yep, here ya go. An upgrading a database tweet. Exciting stuff.” Over time, I began to figure out this RT and shorten URL thing and began to promote legal marketers such as @nancymyrland and @kevinokeefe, and get word out about our partner’s website articles or webinars.

What really fascinated me most though? That I began to discover from following some of the tweeps is they were actually conversing with each other in these 140 character bytes. What I also discovered as I watched tweeps engage is that I could see their personalities begin to shine through their tweets. This truly fascinated me. As the conversations were going on, I realized I wanted to play on this playground. I wanted to get to know these tweeps and engage.

So timidly (and those who know me, know timid is not a description used often about me), I tried to jump gracefully into some of the conversation. Conversations that were taking place among people all over the world. These conversations included sharing of information, humor, concern. It was the human experience that we all share across the globe.

I’m blessed to now have close relationships with tweeps all over the country, and all over the world. Recently one of my friends @marcelamomberg safely made it through the Chilean earthquake devastation. For the several days that she was off of twitter, many of us worried about her. You could see the relief through her twitter friends when she popped on to say hi. I can’t even explain the happiness in my heart with a simple tweet “hai Deb.” It truly is amazing how you can become close with someone in 140 character bytes.

The world has gotten smaller, closer and a little sweeter. Truly.

Posted in: Social Media, Twitter